

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR BUREAU OF LABOR STANDARDS 45 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0045

WAGE & HOUR DIVISION

LAURA A. FORTMAN COMMISSIONER

MICHAEL ROLAND

DIRECTOR

JANET T. MILLS GOVERNOR

April 14, 2023

Pine Tree Solar, LLC Attn: Michael Griggs 48 Liberty DR Hermon, ME 04401

RE: Violations of Title 26 MRS. Inspection #476093

Dear Mr. Griggs,

When our Inspector, **Maine Labor**, visited your place of business on March 31, 2023, the following violations of Maine Labor Law were found:

**26 MRS §621-A Timely and Full Payment of Wages** requires that employees be paid in full, on an established day or date, at regular intervals made known to the employee. The intervals may not exceed 16 days and must include all wages earned to within 8 days of the payment date.

In this case, the employer failed to pay 13 employees on the established pay date of 03/17/2023.

**§629 (1) Work without compensation; return of compensation.** A person, firm or corporation may not require or permit any person as a condition of securing or retaining employment to work without monetary compensation or when having an agreement, oral, written or implied, that a part of such compensation should be returned to the person, firm or corporation for any reason other than for the payment of a loan, debt or advance made to the person, or for the payment of any merchandise purchased from the employer or for sick or accident benefits, or life or group insurance premiums, excluding compensation insurance, that an employee has agreed to pay, or for rent, light or water expense of a company-owned house or building. This section does not apply to work performed in agriculture or in or about a private home.

In this case, the employer allowed 13 employees to work without monetary compensation between 03/05/2023 and 03/11/2023.

**26 MRS §626-A PENALTIES** Whoever violates any of the provisions of sections 621-A to 623 or section 626, 628, 628-A, 629 or 629-B is subject to a forfeiture of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 for each violation. Each employee is counted as a separate violation, each pay cycle.

- 13 violations of §621-A x \$100 = \$1,300.00
- 13 violations of §629(1) x \$100 = \$1,300.00

**26 MRS §664 Minimum Wage.** Except as otherwise provided in this subchapter, an employer may not employ any employee at a rate less than the rates required by this section.

As of January 1, 2023, the minimum wage is \$13.80 per hour.

In this case, the employer failed to pay at least minimum wage to 13 employees for work performed between 03/05/2023 and 03/11/2023.

**26 MRS §664 (3) Overtime Rate** requires that employees be paid time-and-one-half their regular hourly rate for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours per week.

In this case, the employer failed to pay overtime wages to 9 employees for work performed between 03/05/2023 and 03/11/2023.

**§671. Penalties** Any employer who violates this subchapter shall, upon conviction thereof, be punished by a fine of not less than \$50 nor more than \$200.

Any employer, who discharges or in any other manner discriminates against any employee because such employee makes a complaint to the director or to the county attorney concerning a violation of this subchapter, shall be punished by a fine of not less than \$50 nor more than \$200. In the event of the violation of any of the provisions of this subchapter, the Attorney General may institute injunction proceedings in the Superior Court to enjoin further violation thereof.

- 13 violations of §664 x \$50 = \$650.00
- 9 violations of §664(3) x \$50 = \$450.00

## The total penalty for the above violation(s) is \$3,700.00.

## Make checks payable to the "Treasurer, State of Maine"

The violations identified above will become a final order within fifteen (15) business days from the day it was received unless you request a penalty discussion or file an appeal within 15 business days.

## Employer options (within 15 business days):

If you intend to correct all violations identified and wish to work with the Wage & Hour Division to possibly reduce the penalty amount, you may request a "<u>Penalty Discussion</u>". This

discussion will pertain only to the penalty(s) and not the violation(s). All proposed penalties will be stayed until after the penalty discussion.

Or

You may file a formal appeal of any violation or penalty within fifteen (15) days of receipt of this citation. Please be specific as to what violation(s) or penalty you wish to appeal. If a request for a formal appeal is received, the Director will set a time and date for a "hearing". The Director will serve as the hearing officer or may assign the appeal to the Administrative Hearings Division within the Department of Labor. The hearing will be at the headquarters of the Bureau or at a place mutually agreeable to the parties. All proposed penalties will be stayed until after the formal appeal is heard.

As the employer, you must respond in writing to the Director of the Bureau, at the address above, within fifteen (15) business days of receipt of this report stating what option you intend to choose. If no response is received within that time frame you accept all citations and any penalties assessed. The citation will become a final order and payment will be due at that time, made payable to **"Treasurer, State of Maine" and mailed to the address at the top of this citation.** 

We strongly recommend that any correspondence be sent by certified mail. Failure to correct violations may result in additional penalties for each violation that is not corrected.

If you have questions regarding this citation, you may contact the Bureau of Labor Standards, Wage & Hour Division at (207) 623-7900.

## Dates to remember:

Respond in writing, to the Director of the Bureau within fifteen (15) business days of receipt of this citation indicating what option you choose.

Respectfully,

citt R. Cotnei

Scott Cotnoir, Director Wage and Hour Division Inspection # 476093